Georges El Fakhri

Georges El Fakhri


Former Director, Gordon Center for Medical Imaging
Former Director, Massachusetts General Hospital PET Core
Former Co-Director, Division of Nuclear Medicine & Molecular Imaging (Research)
Former Professor of Radiology, Harvard Medical School


  • 1994, M.Eng. Ecole Centrale, France
  • 1994, M.S. Engineering University of Texas, Austin, TX
  • 1995, M.S. (Biomedical Engineering) University of Paris XI, France
  • 1998, Ph.D. (Medical Physics) University of Paris XI, France
  • 1999, Postdoctoral Fellowship, Harvard Medical School

Contact Info

White 427
55 Fruit Street
Boston, MA 02114


See Harvard Catalyst for publications

Dr. El Fakhri has recently made a transition to Director of the Yale PET Center, and no longer serves as Director of the Gordon Center for Medical Imaging.

Dr. Georges El Fakhri was the founding Director of the MGH Gordon PET Core,
Gordon Center, and the Postgraduate Training Program in Medical Imaging (PTPMI).
He served as Co-Director of NMMI Division at MGH and of Physics and
Instrumentation in the Harvard Joint Program in Nuclear Medicine.
He was a Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School.
His research interests include:

Awards and Honors

  • 2020 AIMBE Fellow
  • 2020 IAMBE Fellow
  • 2019 SNMMI Hoffman Award
  • 2018   SNMMI Fellow
  • 2016   IEEE Fellow
  • 2015   Partners MGH-BWH Radiology Collaborative Research Award
  • 2015   Brain Gain Fund Award, Holy Spirit University, Kaslik
  • 2014   Dana Foundation Brain and Immuno-Imaging Award
  • 2013   Mark Tetalman Award, Society of Nuclear Medicine
  • 2013   Keynote speaker, 2009 USEK Commencement Lecture, Holy Spirit University, School of Medicine
  • 2013   Partners in Excellence Award as Director of the Cyclotron Facility at MGH
  • 2012   Awardee of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) training Innovation Program (Three awards nationally in the U.S.)
  • 2011   Harvard-Australia Visiting Professor
  • 2009   IEEE Senior Member
  • 2005   NAKFI Fellow, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2004   Distinguished Investigator Award, Academy of Radiology Research
  • 2004   Honorary Professor, Medical Radiation Sciences, University of Sydney