Dr. Georges El Fakhri Earns Edward J. Hoffman Award

This story was originally published on 03/12/2019 by Rad Times, a publication of the Mass General Hospital Department of Radiology.

The Edward J. Hoffman Award honors those who have made outstanding contributions to nuclear medicine research and education. The 2019 recipient is Georges El Fakhri, PhD, professor of radiology at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. He is receiving the award for outstanding contributions to quantitative SPECT, PET-CT and PET-MR imaging and to the education of nuclear medicine scientists and physicians.

Dr. Georges El Fakhri was one of twelve scientists and physicians elected Fellow to the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging for his contributions to quantitative PET, CT and MR imaging during a special plenary session at the society’s 2018 annual meeting in June in Philadelphia. The SNMMI Fellowship was established in 2016 to recognize distinguished service to the society as well as exceptional achievement in the field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. It is one of the most prestigious formal recognitions available to longtime SNMMI members.